Category Archives: Sport

2017 CAAD Women Champions

WSAD Warriors Head Coach Dino Lomanto, ’91 and Assistant Coach Steve Haynie, ’85 led their team to win their first 2017 Central Athletics Association of the Deaf (CAAD) women champions in Ann Arbor, Michigan last March 3-4, 2017. Dino got ‘Coach of the Tournament’ award. Their team will attend two national tournaments, USA Deaf Basketball (USADB) on April 20-22 in Washington D.C. and National Deaf Basketball Organization (NDBO) on May 4-6 in Dayton, Ohio. Congratulations, Dino and Steve.

In My Own Words: Jamal Garner

WASHINGTON – Gallaudet University athletics is proud to participate in the fifth annual NCAA Division III Week (April 4-10) in an effort to celebrate the impact athletics and Bison student-athletes have on our campus and surrounding community. GU is joining 450 Division III institutions and 43 conferences in this week’s celebration.

To help focus on the many student-athletes that represent Gallaudet athletics we will spotlight two different student-athlete each day this week. You will learn more about them as they express their feelings on what it is like to be a Division III student-athlete here at Gallaudet. Interviews were conducted by the Gallaudet Sports Information Office.

Freshman Jamal Garner (Jacksonville, Ill.) is in his first year with the men’s basketball and men’s track and field teams and is hoping to graduate in 2019 with a degree in accounting and a minor in athletic coaching.

[Read more from Gallaudet University Athletics Department website (

Recognizing ISD’s USA Deaf Olympians


1st Row: S. Robey Burns; John Chudzikiewicz; Wayne Otten; William VanSpankeren; Robert Montfort; Don Phelps.
2nd Row: William Zachariasen; Mike Ubowski; Dan Fitzpatrick; David Gurley; Mike Aubry; Robert Mansell.
3rd Row: Jeff Brown; Charles Hammack; Ronald Mattson; Steve McLeod; Paul White; Kevin Smith.
4th Row: Eric Smith; Nikki Surber; Brandy Tetzlaff Hayes; Steve Haynie; Luke Zurkamer; Dwayne Esper.

24 ISD Alumni who have participated in the USA Deaflympics, also known as CISS and World Games for the Deaf in the past years, will be recognized at the ISDAA Hall of Fame’s 25th Anniversary fete. Even though six of those participants are deceased, it is hopeful that most of the remaining 18 USA athletes from ISD will be able to make the trip to Jacksonville and receive recognition for their Deaflympics participation during the Hall of Fame banquet.

Location of the banquet has been moved to Reichert Banquet Bar and Grill located at 1852 South Main Street in South Jacksonville. This place has spacious space and with no obstructive poles to interfere and has an overhead projector to show the powerpoint slides of all the Olympians as well as other items in the agenda for all of the audience to easily follow through.

Banquet tickets are now on sale and please contact Tonya Logsdon if you have any questions or concerns about the banquet or the event. Her email address is ( For other information regarding the Hall of Fame, contact Bob Dramin, Hall of Fame chair at (

Cost of dinner is $25.00 and must be purchased before September 25th. All tickets sold after that date will be $30.00. So, please hurry and purchase your tickets from one of the Hall of Fame committee or use the coupon (ISDAA 25th Anniversary Hall of Fame Banquet) to print and mail it to Tonya Logsdon.


DEAFLYMPICS Participants

[Download the file, DEAFLYMPICS to see the whole page.]

Above are the Illinois School for the Deaf Alumni who had participated in the Deaf Olympics since 1935. I need your help in identifying any other ISD Alumni that I might have missed. Your help will be greatly appreciated. Those above ISD Deaf Olympians will be recognized at the Hall of Fame banquet/ceremony in Jacksonville, IL on October 9, 2015. Thank You! 

Bob Dramin ’88 – ISDAA Hall of Fame Chairperson  –e-mail:  (

Break 33 Year Old School Track Record


Jordan Manges ’15 set a new school record in the 400-meter, breaking the 33-year-old mark held by Kevin Smith, ’82. Smith ran a :50:3 seconds in 1982 while Manges ran a time of :50:24.